A Throwback

7 March 201

I’m not much for #tbt (throwback Thursday), but figured I’d do a post of the sort today.  Back in Guatemala I wrote a post titled, “The Art of Walking in Guatemala.”  Today’s post is just the same, but in the context of Buenos Aires.

I’m a New Yorker.  I might not live anywhere near New York City, but I know I walk fast.  I always have.  In grade school I would walk fast in the halls, in Saratoga I’m usually a few strides ahead of my friends.  It’s become a norm for me.  Sometimes I’m in a hurry, while other times it happens to the pace I walk at.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s because I’m short, and I try to make up for my height in my pace so as not to be left behind by those taller than me.  Who knows.  Either way, my pace is MUCH too fast for these Argentinians.  I’m not sure if I have ever even attempted to walk at the pace that these people walk at.  I think I would feel as if I’m standing still.  Yes, there are many porteños (people who live in Buenos Aires) whom walk fast, but overall, the pace of this culture is much slower than my own back in the United States.

So, yeah, one aspect to the art of walking in Buenos Aires is that walking here need not be a race to your destination.  Another thing: sometimes water seems to drip from the apartments above.  Whether it is from watering plants or air conditioners, I don’t know, but it’s something to watch out for.  One can usually spot a water drip spot because of the wet mark on the sidewalk.  But if you’re in a rush, or stuck behind slow people, you may not be able to move out of the way, and thus, experience the water drops that are common along Avenida Santa Fe.  Oddly enough, one fell upon me yesterday, and splashed my friend as well, and it actually felt refreshing to us.

There is one thing in common with Central America here: dog shit is something to watch out for.  There may not be as much, or as narrow of sidewalks, but there are professional dog walkers here in Buenos Aires, and no doubt that they can keep track of all the bowel movements that occur in their pack of canines.  So, step cautiously, for you may find an unwanted present upon your sole.

Lastly, cross walks are used here.  Pedestrians don’t have the right of way, and one’s life may flash before their eyes if they time their cross incorrectly.  It is best to wait for the little walking dude to light up on the walk/don’t walk sign.

Walk on and experience.

Leave a Reply

